Website Manager

News Detail


Mar, 2019

Bronco World Series finds new home in Laredo, Texas

PONY Baseball and Softball, the PONY South Zone, the City of Laredo, Texas and Laredo PONY League are proud to announce that the Bronco (12U) World Series will be moving to Laredo for 2019 and 2020. Now in its 59th year, the Bronco World Series will be played Aug. 2-5 and feature the best international field of 12U PONY Baseball players in the world in a four-day, double-elimination tournament.

The City of Laredo and Laredo PONY have done a sensational job hosting the 2017-18 South Zone Girls Softball World Series, as well as the 2018 Palomino (18U) World Series. Given the hosts’ abilities to stage these large, world-class events of their magnitude, Laredo was a natural fit as a partner for the Bronco World Series.

“PONY is delighted to announce that Laredo PONY in Laredo, Texas will host the 2019 and 2020 Bronco League World Series," said PONY President & CEO Abraham Key. “Laredo is a model PONY organization and will host both the Bronco and Palomino League World Series in 2019. Laredo’s leadership team is primed for the opportunity and we have the greatest confidence in creating an awesome experience for our players, their families and fans."

The Bronco World Series will be held at the M.E. Benavides Sports Complex. Concurrently, the Palomino World Series will be going on in Laredo at nearby Uni-Trade Stadium.

“The South Zone of PONY Baseball and Softball is very excited about hosting the Bronco World Series,” said South Zone Vice President Arnulfo Banda. “The City of Laredo and Laredo PONY will do an exemplary job, just as they have with the Palomino World Series and South Zone Softball World Series. Being a former Bronco coach, who has participated in the Bronco World Series in the past, I am particularly close to this event and very excited about hosting it.” 

The great city of Laredo was founded by Don Tomas Sanches in 1755. It is located on the banks of the Rio Grande River across from Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, Mexico. For centuries, its geographical location has made it the trading point for the two nations. Today, Laredo is the nation’s largest inland port and has a population of 295,000 people, making it the 10th-largest city in the state of Texas. Rich in history and diverse in its cultures, Laredo offers its visitors great food, shopping, world-class entertainment facilities, in a warm and friendly environment.

Laredo PONY has been a program on-the-rise since the beginning of the decade. Most notably, Laredo won the 2011 Pony League World Series title, defeating annual contender Chinese Taipei 10-9 in a championship game that was one for the ages. Among Laredo’s other World Series appearances include: Mustang-9 (2016), Bronco-11 (2013-14), Pony-13 (2010-11, 2013, 2015), Pony (2011-12, 2016), Colt (2011-12) and Palomino (2018). It will be Laredo’s first appearance in a Bronco World Series.

“We are extremely excited and honored to have the opportunity to host the Palomino 18U and the Bronco 12U, two of the pinnacle World Series tournaments of PONY Baseball in Laredo and Webb County, Texas,” said Richard Rosas, Laredo PONY League President. “It’s always a true blessing to also give our youth a priceless memory from here and visiting teams from around the world that few get to participate in. We will be ready and looking forward to greeting all of the teams and visitors in our great city and county wish everyone the best of luck. Play ball!”

The Bronco World Series is the apex of achievement, as it is the premiere tournament for 12-year-old (and under) PONY baseball players from all over the world. Former participants in the event who are now active players in the Major Leagues include: Carlos Correa, Houston (2007); Tzu-Wei Lin, Boston (2005); Alex Claudio, Milwaukee (2004); Christian Vazquez, Boston (2002-03); and Robert Stock, San Diego (2002).

An eight-team tournament, the Bronco World Series will feature the Asia-Pacific Zone Champion, Mexico Zone Champion, Caribbean Zone Champion, United States Zone Champions from the East, North, South and West, as well as Host Laredo. Over four days, the eight teams will battle it out on the diamond in upwards of 16 games to determine the title for Bronco World Series champion.

The Bronco World Series comes to Laredo following a 34-year run in which the event was played across the state of California (Los Alamitos 2013-18; Monterey 1993-2012; Citrus Heights 1987, 1989-92; Pacific Grove 1988; San Jose 1985). Previously, the Bronco World Series had been played in seven other states, as well as Mexico City, Mexico. It is the second time that the event will be played in the state of Texas (Kingsville, 1967).

The tenacity and competitiveness of the seven participating teams at the 2018 Bronco World Series were on full display. Host Los Alamitos, after falling 4-3 in a hard-fought game against Mexico Zone Champion Mexico City (Liga Olmeca), ripped off three-consecutive victories, before a rematch. Another member of PONY’s West Zone, Champion East Oahu, Hawaii gave the host team all it wanted in an 8-7 game. On the other side of the bracket, South Zone Champion Palmview, Texas avenged a first night loss to North Zone Champion Chicago (AFCA), Illinois, before being eliminated by eventual champion Kaohsiung City, Chinese Taipei in a 4-1 defensive duel. Liga Olmeca upended and eliminated Los Alamitos in the semifinals 5-2, but couldn't find the magic against Kaohsiung City, who rolled to a lopsided championship game victory. Chinese Taipei brought back the Bronco World Series title back to the PONY Asia-Pacific Zone for the seventh time.

Follow and, as well as PONY Baseball and Softball’s social media accounts for more announcements leading up to the event. Visit the official Bronco World Series website at

PONY Baseball and Softball

1951 Pony Place 
Washington, Pennsylvania 15301
PHONE : 724-225-1060
FAX: 724-225-9852
Copyright © 2023 Pony National  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Login